All’s New on the Western Front – The baby, the nine to five and more climbing!

LOCAL CRUSHER "AP" BOULDERING AT SBRG

So 2012 has been a huge year for my family. My son just turned 1 year old and I am climbing more than ever, reminiscent of my miseries when my climbing took the back seat to my family, which it still technically does.

Back in May I left my positions with AppleOne Employment Services and joined a progressive forward thinking presidential campaign; however, as of a week ago, with her devastating loss, I am no longer employed by Roseanne Barr as a speech writer, I am still claiming election fraud on this one! What I am really trying to say is that beginning in May 2012, I was accepted into the proud ranks of one of Outside’s Best Places to Work 2012, as the Logistics Coordinator for Horny toad Activewear.

My dream for years has been to work in the outdoor apparel industry, and now to see this come to fruition with such an amazing company and be able to stay in Santa Barbara is just beyond what I could have asked for. It has been such a great experience thus far, aside from the free beer and monthly BBQ’s, it has been nice to get free clothes without having to panhandle or go to the salvation army. So far, the only downside to working here has been that they turn you into a Horny Toad when you start. I am getting used to it, and I must say, flies have never tasted better. Plus, as a Toad, I can grip anything making those 5.13 projects so much easier to climb (if only that were true), but now I am deftly afraid of dogs and people from the bayou.

If my son’s 1st birthday and my position working with Roseanne Barr Horny Toad Activewear were the only awesome things to happen this year, you would probably begin to think, “Wow! this guys life is boring.” Then again, I started this blog to export my adventure to the inter-webs. No matter how many GLEE episodes I watch or dixieland dinner plates I try to avoid, I have had the most extraordinary year, and becoming a Climbing Instructor at the recently opened Santa Barbara Rock Gym has topped it off!

The Santa Barbara Rock Gym opened on August 25th and is just one block from Horny Toad HQ. Back in July, Will Russ, the Owner of the gym put out an e-mail to hire instructors. Much to my surprise, my beautiful wife encouraged me to apply. “WAIT WHAT!!!!!???? You are a passionate climber who spent the entire pregnancy with your firstborn climbing 3 nights a week and she said hey, you have a one year old, you should get a job at a climbing gym! Now that is just crazy!”

I am now a Certified Climbing Wall Instructor through the CWA and work on Saturdays leading the Kids Climbing Club, some Intro to Climbing and Lead classes and organizing our Tequila tasting events – which are happening. While it cannot be compared to climbing in the Santa Barbara foothills, I have been in the gym 3 days a week which I would take over reading in the park any-day – although I love to do this as well.

This year has not been easy, managing the daily routines of a 1 year old, being a loving husband, holding down two jobs and still finding time to stay on top of this seasons Glee episodes can be taxing, but I am all the more blessed for it.

Happy adventures!

Enare

Comments
6 Responses to “All’s New on the Western Front – The baby, the nine to five and more climbing!”
  1. Michael says:

    Live to Roam is currently looking for quality blogs to represent themselves alongside some of the most unique and well known places in the world. Based on the quality of the content on your blog, we would like to offer you a location on one of our maps. Support the lifestyle, Live to Roam.

    Please visit http://www.livetoroam.com for more information.

  2. Jarka says:

    Very inspirational…I was actualy feeling frustrated after todays indoor climbing because I did not climb for 3 months and also I moved out of the country where I used to climb and change did not do me that good…still getting used to new wall. I found your blog when I was trying to see how other people deal with similar frustration. I can see you done a great job I would say life changing.

    • SBClimber says:

      Hey Jarka,
      thank you for posting a comment. I am so glad that you found some inspiration in this post, it is definitely a sport that brings out the best in you, the camaraderie and the ability to push your limits is awesome. I wish you all the best in your endeavors as you get back into climbing, just remember, there is always more to improve on so do not forget the accomplishments you have made already. I would love to hear how things are going in a few months, keep me posted. Cheers!
      Enare

  3. atoptherox says:

    Awesome- I envy your ability to climb so much with the family and job as well. I just joined a gym that has a climbing wall, so I am going to try and see how I can make my schedule work.

    • SBClimber says:

      Hey man,
      It is not a simple lifestyle choice, that is for sure. But is is so rewarding! I am so happy to be able to climb and still spend quality time wit my family, there is really nothing that beats it.
      Thanks,
      Enare

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] there is one thing I have learned during my time as an Instructor at the Santa Barbara Rock Gym, it is that, without question, improving your climbing technique is [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 682 other followers

